Inscription of Insight

Inscription of Insight {3}{U}

Sorcery
Kicker {2}{U}{U}
Choose one. If this spell was kicked, choose any number instead.
• Return up to two target creatures to their owners' hands.
• Scry 2, then draw two cards.
• Target player creates an X/X blue Illusion creature token, where X is the number of cards in their hand.
Details
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2020-09-25 If any targets become illegal, the other targets will still be affected as appropriate. If any targets are chosen and every target becomes illegal, Inscription of Insight doesn't resolve. You won't scry 2 or draw two cards if the middle mode was chosen.
  • 2020-09-25 If more than one mode is chosen, perform them in the order written. Nothing can happen in between, however, and no player may choose to take actions. Any abilities that trigger will be put onto the stack after the spell has finished resolving.
  • 2020-09-25 If you kick Inscription of Insight, you can't choose any one mode more than once.
  • 2020-09-25 The value of X is determined only as you perform the third mode while Inscription of Insight is resolving. Once that happens, the value of X won't change even if the number of cards in the player's hand changes.
  • 2024-11-08 If a card or token enters as a copy of a permanent, the new permanent isn't kicked, even if the original was.
  • 2024-11-08 If a spell's kicker cost was paid, the spell is "kicked."
  • 2024-11-08 If you copy a kicked spell on the stack, the copy is also kicked. If the copied spell is a permanent spell, the token the copy of that spell becomes when it enters is also kicked.
  • 2024-11-08 If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can't kick it.
  • 2024-11-08 The kicker ability doesn't let you pay a kicker cost more than once.
  • 2024-11-08 To determine a spell's total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card's effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The spell's mana value remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 预言铭文
  • 預言銘文
  • Inschrift der Einsicht
  • Inscription de perspicacité
  • Iscrizione della Conoscenza
  • 洞察の碑文
  • 통찰의 기록
  • Epígrafe de Discernimento
  • Письмена Озарения
  • Inscripción de conocimiento