Into the Roil

Into the Roil {1}{U}

Instant
Kicker {1}{U}
Return target nonland permanent to its owner's hand. If this spell was kicked, draw a card.
"Roil tide! Roil tide! Tie yourselves down!"
Details
  • Artist: Kieran Yanner
  • Rarity: common
  • Collector Number: 48
  • Released: 2009-10-02
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2009-10-01 If the targeted permanent is an illegal target by the time Into the Roil resolves, the entire spell doesn't resolve. You don't draw a card.
  • 2020-09-25 An ability that triggers when a player casts a kicked spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger, but after targets have been chosen for that spell. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
  • 2020-09-25 If the target nonland permanent is an illegal target by the time Into the Roil tries to resolve, the spell doesn't resolve. You don't draw a card if it was kicked.
  • 2020-09-25 Kicker represents an optional additional cost that you may choose to pay as you cast the spell. A spell cast with that additional cost paid is "kicked."
  • 2020-09-25 You can't pay a kicker cost more than once.
  • 2020-09-25 If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can't kick it.
  • 2020-09-25 If you copy a kicked spell, the copy is also kicked. If a card or token enters the battlefield as a copy of a permanent that's already on the battlefield, the new permanent isn't kicked, even if the original was.
  • 2020-09-25 To determine a spell's total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card's effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was.
  • 2020-09-25 Some instant or sorcery spells require alternative or additional targets if they're kicked. You ignore these targeting requirements if those spells aren't kicked, and you can't kick those spells unless you can choose the appropriate targets. On the other hand, you can kick a permanent spell even if you won't be able to choose targets for an enters-the-battlefield ability of that permanent once the spell resolves.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 没入狂搅
  • 沒入狂攪
  • In die Turbulenz hinein
  • En plein Roulis
  • Nel Torbido
  • 乱動への突入
  • 탁류 속으로
  • Adentrar o Turbilhão
  • Навстречу Великому Валу
  • Dentro de la Turbulencia