Baral, Chief of Compliance

Baral, Chief of Compliance {1}{U}

Legendary Creature - Human Wizard
Instant and sorcery spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.
Whenever a spell or ability you control counters a spell, you may draw a card. If you do, discard a card.
"What's behind my mask? My face, idiot."
  • Artist: Martin Ontiveros
  • Collector Number: 1164
  • Available foil and nonfoil
  • Frame Effects: legendary, inverted
  • Rarity: rare
  • Released: 2022-12-02
  • Set: Secret Lair Drop
  • Stamp: oval
  • Subsets: Wizards of the Street
  • 2021-03-19 A spell or ability counters a spell only if it specifically contains the word "counter" in its text. If a spell or ability you control causes all the targets of a spell to become illegal, that spell doesn't resolve but it's not countered.
  • 2021-03-19 The cost reduction applies only to generic mana in the cost of instant and sorcery spells you cast.
  • 2021-03-19 To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as a flashback cost), add any cost increases (such as kicker costs), then apply any cost reductions (such as that of Baral's first ability). The mana value of the spell is determined by only its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast that spell was.

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 监察长巴罗
  • 監察長巴羅
  • Baral, Oberster Regelüberwacher
  • Baral, directeur de conformité
  • Baral, Commissario della Conformità
  • 遵法長、バラル
  • 감시 대장 바랄
  • Baral, Chefe da Conformidade
  • Бараль, Старший по Повиновению
  • Baral, señor de la sumisión