Sygg, River Cutthroat

Sygg, River Cutthroat {U/B}{U/B}

Legendary Creature - Merfolk Rogue
At the beginning of each end step, if an opponent lost 3 or more life this turn, you may draw a card.
"It's not a matter of deserving. It's a matter of strength. The power to hold versus the power to take."
1/3
Details
  • Artist: Jeremy Enecio
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 176
  • Released: 2008-05-02
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2008-05-01 As the end step begins, Sygg's ability checks whether a player who is currently your opponent, or a player who was your opponent at the time they left the game, has lost 3 or more life over the course of the turn. If so, the ability will trigger. If not, it won't.
  • 2008-05-01 It doesn't matter how the opponent lost life or who caused it, as long as the total loss of life is 3 or more.
  • 2008-05-01 Sygg's ability checks only whether life was lost. It doesn't care whether life was also gained. For example, if an opponent lost 4 life and gained 6 life during the turn, that player will have a higher life total than they started the turn with — but Sygg's ability will trigger anyway.
  • 2008-05-01 You don't specify an opponent when the ability triggers. If multiple opponents have lost 3 or more life over the course of the turn, the ability will trigger only once.
  • 2008-05-01 Sygg's ability will trigger even if Sygg wasn't on the battlefield at the time some or all of the life was lost.
  • 2008-05-01 Sygg's ability checks to see if it triggers at the end of every turn. It doesn't have to be your turn, and it doesn't have to be the turn of the opponent that lost life.
Links
Printings
  • Shadowmoor (rare)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 河流割喉人席格
  • Sygg, Flussmeuchler
  • Sygg, surineur de rivière
  • Sygg, Tagliagole Fluviale
  • 川の殺し屋、シグ
  • Sygg, Degolador do Rio
  • Сигг, Речной Головорез
  • Sygg, degollador del río