Grafdigger's Cage

Grafdigger's Cage {1}

Artifact
Creature cards in graveyards and libraries can't enter the battlefield.
Players can't cast spells from graveyards or libraries.
"Best bury them right. We don't want any gruesome encores."
—Constable Trosk
Details
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2019-07-12 Players can still play lands from graveyards or libraries if an effect allows them to do so.
  • 2019-07-12 If an effect exiles a card from a library and allows a player to cast it, that player may do so. The spell is cast from exile, not a library.
  • 2019-07-12 Look at the card as it exists in your graveyard to determine whether it can enter the battlefield. For example, Sculpting Steel can be put onto the battlefield as a copy of a creature, but Phyrexian Metamorph can't be put onto the battlefield, even if it would copy a noncreature artifact.
  • 2019-07-12 Manifesting a card from a graveyard or library is an impossible action while Grafdigger's Cage is on the battlefield.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 挖坟人囚笼
  • 挖墳人囚籠
  • Käfig des Totengräbers
  • Cage du fossoyeur de graf
  • Gabbia del Becchino
  • 墓掘りの檻
  • 시체도둑의 철창
  • Jaula do Escavador de Túmulos
  • Клетка Раскопщика Могильников
  • Jaula del cavatumbas