Torpor Orb

Torpor Orb {2}

Artifact
Creatures entering the battlefield don't cause abilities to trigger.
"Phyrexia is certainly dangerous, but I have to admire some of its innovations."
—Tezzeret
Details
  • Artist: Svetlin Velinov
  • Watermark: phyrexian
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 162
  • Released: 2011-05-13
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2011-06-01 Torpor Orb stops a creature's own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that would trigger when a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 2011-06-01 The trigger event doesn't have to specify "creatures" entering the battlefield. For example, Amulet of Vigor says "Whenever a permanent enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, untap it." If a creature enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would not trigger. If a land (that isn't also a creature) enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would trigger.
  • 2011-06-01 Abilities that create replacement effects, such as a permanent entering the battlefield tapped or with counters on it, are unaffected.
  • 2011-06-01 Abilities that apply "as [this creature] enters the battlefield," such as choosing a creature to copy with Clone, are unaffected.
  • 2011-06-01 Look at the permanent as it exists on the battlefield, taking into account continuous effects, to determine whether any triggered abilities will trigger. For example, if you control March of the Machines, which says, in part, "Each noncreature artifact is an artifact creature," Torpor Orb will be a creature when it enters the battlefield and will not cause triggered abilities to trigger.
  • 2011-06-01 If Torpor Orb and a creature enter the battlefield at the same time, that creature entering the battlefield won't cause triggered abilities to trigger.
Links
Printings
  • New Phyrexia (rare)

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 迟钝法球
  • 遲鈍法球
  • Kugel der Erstarrtheit
  • Orbe de torpeur
  • Globo del Torpore
  • 倦怠の宝珠
  • Orbe Tórpida
  • Шар Оцепенения
  • Orbe de torpor