Spiny Starfish

Spiny Starfish {2}{U}

Creature - Starfish
{U}: Regenerate Spiny Starfish.
At the beginning of each end step, if Spiny Starfish regenerated this turn, create a 0/1 blue Starfish creature token for each time it regenerated this turn.
0/1
Details
  • Artist: Alan Rabinowitz
  • Rarity: uncommon
  • Collector Number: 50
  • Released: 2009-09-07
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2009-10-01 Spiny Starfish's first ability creates a regeneration shield for it. Spiny Starfish's second ability checks whether it _used_ any regeneration shields that turn, not whether any regeneration shields were created for it.
  • 2009-10-01 The second ability doesn't care where the regeneration shields Spiny Starfish used that turn came from. If it regenerated due to a regeneration shield from Refresh, for example, the ability will still put a Starfish token onto the battlefield.
  • 2009-10-01 The second ability has an "intervening 'if' clause," so it won't trigger at all unless Spiny Starfish had regenerated that turn. However, the number of tokens that are created isn't determined until the ability resolves (in case it regenerates again before that time).
  • 2009-10-01 If Spiny Starfish regenerates during the end step after its second ability has resolved, no tokens will be created as a result.
Links
Printings
  • Masters Edition III (uncommon)
  • Alliances (uncommon)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • Stachliger Seestern
  • Etoile de mer ├ępineuse
  • Stella Marina Spinata
  • Estrela-do-Mar Espinhosa
  • Estrella de mar espinosa