Meddling Mage

Meddling Mage {W}{U}

Creature - Human Wizard
As Meddling Mage enters the battlefield, choose a nonland card name.
Spells with the chosen name can't be cast.
2/2
Details
  • Artist: Todd Lockwood
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 17
  • Released: 2020-03-12
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2009-05-01 No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Meddling Mage's ability starts to work.
  • 2009-05-01 Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Meddling Mage enters the battlefield are not affected by Meddling Mage's ability.
  • 2009-05-01 Although the named card can't be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it's a permanent card).
  • 2009-05-01 You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can't be cast. The other half is unaffected.
  • 2009-05-01 If a card with morph is named, that card may still be cast face down. Face-down cards have no names.
  • 2009-05-01 Once Meddling Mage leaves the battlefield, the named card can be cast again.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 扰咒法师
  • Herumpfuschender Magier
  • Ingérence du mage
  • Mago Intrigante
  • 翻弄する魔道士
  • Mago Interferidor
  • Вмешивающаяся Волшебница
  • Mago Entrometido