Marchesa, the Black Rose

Marchesa, the Black Rose {1}{U}{B}{R}

Legendary Creature - Human Wizard
Dethrone
Other creatures you control have dethrone.
Whenever a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it dies, return that card to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the next end step.
3/3
Details
  • Artist: Matt Stewart
  • Rarity: mythic
  • Collector Number: 49
  • Released: 2014-06-06
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2014-05-29 If a creature has multiple instances of dethrone, each triggers separately.
  • 2014-05-29 If the creature card leaves the graveyard before the delayed triggered ability resolves, that card won't return to the battlefield, even if it's back in the graveyard when the delayed triggered ability resolves.
  • 2014-05-29 If Marchesa has a +1/+1 counter on it when it dies, it will return to the battlefield under your control because of its own ability.
  • 2014-05-29 Dethrone doesn't trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life.
  • 2014-05-29 Once dethrone triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.
  • 2014-05-29 The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
  • 2014-05-29 In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks either player on the team with the most life or tied for the most life.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 黑蔷薇玛切莎
  • Marchesa, die Schwarze Rose
  • Marchesa, la Rose Noire
  • Marchesa, la Rosa Nera
  • 黒薔薇のマルチェッサ
  • Marchesa, a Rosa Negra
  • Marquesa, la Rosa Negra