Megatron, Tyrant
Megatron, Destructive Force

Megatron, Tyrant {3}{R}{W}{B}

Legendary Artifact Creature - Robot
More Than Meets the Eye {1}{R}{W}{B}
Your opponents can't cast spells during combat.
At the beginning of your postcombat main phase, you may convert Megatron. If you do, add {C} for each 1 life your opponents have lost this turn.
7/5
Card has other part: Megatron, Destructive Force
Details
  • Artist: Volta Creation
  • Collector Number: 12a
  • Available foil and nonfoil
  • Frame Effects: convertdfc, legendary
  • Rarity: mythic
  • Released: 2022-11-18
  • Set: Transformers
  • Stamp: triangle
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2022-10-14 "Living metal" means "As long as it's your turn, this permanent is an artifact creature in addition to its other types."
  • 2022-10-14 "More Than Meets the Eye [cost]" means "You may cast this card converted by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost." It functions in any zone from which the spell can be cast.
  • 2022-10-14 A spell cast this way enters the battlefield with its back face up.
  • 2022-10-14 Any triggered ability of another card that triggers whenever a permanent transforms will also trigger whenever a permanent converts.
  • 2022-10-14 Converting a permanent doesn't affect any Auras or Equipment that are attached to it. Similarly, any counters on the permanent will remain on that permanent after it converts. Any continuous effects from a resolved spell or ability will continue to affect it. Any spells or abilities on the stack that target a permanent continue to do so after that permanent converts.
  • 2022-10-14 Determining what excess damage would be dealt to a creature is similar to how combat damage from a creature with trample is handled. Start with the amount of damage being dealt to the creature and determine what is "lethal." This is usually the creature's toughness minus the amount of damage that it already has marked on it, but ignoring any replacement or prevention effects that will modify this damage. Also ignore whether the creature has an ability such as indestructible that will result in it not being destroyed by this damage.
  • 2022-10-14 If Megatron has deathtouch as the reflexive triggered ability resolves, 1 damage is lethal damage, and any amount beyond that is excess damage.
  • 2022-10-14 If a static ability of another permanent applies only to noncreature permanents, that ability applies to a Vehicle with living metal only during your opponents' turns. For example, if you control Arcee, Acrobatic Coupe and March of the Machines, Arcee will be a 2/2 artifact creature during your turn and a 3/3 artifact creature (because its mana value is 3) during each opponent's turn.
  • 2022-10-14 If the target creature is an illegal target by the time the reflexive triggered ability tries to resolve, the ability won't resolve. It won't deal damage to any player.
  • 2022-10-14 If you copy a permanent spell cast this way, the copy has the characteristics of the card's back face, even though it isn't itself a double-faced card.
  • 2022-10-14 Once you've determined that there would be excess damage and how much damage is excess, Megatron simultaneously deals damage to the creature and to that creature's controller, then converts. The damage may be modified by replacement or prevention effects.
  • 2022-10-14 Similarly, an ability of another card that instructs you to "transform" one of these cards will cause you to convert it, even if that ability doesn't use the word "convert."
  • 2022-10-14 The convert keyword action functions the same way as the transform keyword action found on some other cards; to convert a permanent on the battlefield, turn it over so that its other face is up.
  • 2022-10-14 The cost is an alternative cost, so it can't be combined with any other alternative costs. It can be combined with any applicable additional costs.
  • 2022-10-14 The mana value of a converted permanent on the battlefield is equal to the mana value of the card's front face, no matter which face is up.
  • 2022-10-14 To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost (such as a More Than Meets the Eye cost) you're paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The mana value of a spell cast using More Than Meets the Eye is determined by the mana cost on the front face of the card, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was.
  • 2022-10-14 When you cast a spell using its More Than Meets the Eye ability, the card is put onto the stack with its back face up. The resulting spell has all characteristics of that face.
  • 2022-10-14 While it's a creature, the Vehicle has its printed power and toughness.
Links
Printings
  • Transformers 12a 26a (mythic)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names