Harsh Mentor

Harsh Mentor {1}{R}

Creature - Human Cleric
Whenever an opponent activates an ability of an artifact, creature, or land on the battlefield, if it isn't a mana ability, Harsh Mentor deals 2 damage to that player.
"Fight through it."
2/2
Details
  • Artist: Shreya Shetty
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 135
  • Released: 2017-04-28
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2017-04-18 Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]." Some keyword abilities (such as equip) are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. An activated mana ability is one that produces mana as it resolves, not one that costs mana to activate. Notably, exerting a creature isn't an activated ability.
  • 2017-04-18 Harsh Mentor's ability doesn't trigger when an opponent activates an ability of a card in hand (such as cycling) or a card in a graveyard (such as embalm), even if that causes a card to be put onto the battlefield.
  • 2017-04-18 Harsh Mentor's ability resolves before the ability that caused it to trigger.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 严厉明师
  • 嚴厲明師
  • Harscher Mentor
  • Mentor exigeant
  • Mentore Severo
  • 過酷な指導者
  • 가혹한 스승
  • Mentor Austero
  • Строгий Наставник
  • Mentor riguroso