Spikefield Hazard
Spikefield Cave

Spikefield Hazard {R}

Instant
Spikefield Hazard deals 1 damage to any target. If a permanent dealt damage this way would die this turn, exile it instead.
"Stop screaming! You'll only bring down more spikes."
—Raff Slugeater, goblin shortcutter
Card has other part: Spikefield Cave
Details
  • Artist: Tomasz Jedruszek
  • Rarity: uncommon
  • Collector Number: 166a
  • Released: 2020-09-25
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2020-09-25 There is a single triangle icon in the top left corner of the front face. There is a double triangle icon in the top left corner of the back face.
  • 2020-09-25 To determine whether it is legal to play a modal double-faced card, consider only the characteristics of the face you're playing and ignore the other face's characteristics.
  • 2020-09-25 If an effect allows you to play a specific modal double-faced card, you may cast it as a spell or play it as a land, as determined by which face you choose to play. If an effect allows you to cast (rather than "play") a specific modal double-faced card, you can't play it as a land.
  • 2020-09-25 If an effect allows you to play a land or cast a spell from among a group of cards, you may play or cast a modal double-faced card with any face that fits the criteria of that effect.
  • 2020-09-25 The converted mana cost of a modal double-faced card is based on the characteristics of the face that's being considered. On the stack and battlefield, consider whichever face is up. In all other zones, consider only the front face. This is different than how the converted mana cost of a transforming double-faced card is determined.
  • 2020-09-25 A modal double-faced card can't be transformed or be put onto the battlefield transformed. Ignore any instruction to transform a modal double-faced card or to put one onto the battlefield transformed.
  • 2020-09-25 If an effect puts a double-faced card onto the battlefield, it enters with its front face up. If that front face can't be put onto the battlefield, it doesn't enter the battlefield.
  • 2020-09-25 If an effect instructs a player to choose a card name, the name of either face may be chosen. If that effect or a linked ability refers to a spell with the chosen name being cast and/or a land with the chosen name being played, it considers only the chosen name, not the other face's name.
  • 2020-09-25 In the Commander variant, a double-faced card's color identity is determined by the mana costs and mana symbols in the rules text of both faces combined. If either face has a color indicator or basic land type, those are also considered.
Links
Printings
  • Zendikar Rising (uncommon)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 尖岩原险境 // 尖岩原洞窟
  • 尖岩原險境 // 尖岩原洞窟
  • Stachelfeld-Gefahr // Stachelfeld-Höhle
  • Danger des Champs de pics // Grotte des Champs de pics
  • Insidia del Campo Aguzzo // Caverna del Campo Aguzzo
  • 棘平原の危険 // 棘平原の洞窟
  • 가시지대 위험물 // 가시지대 동굴
  • Risco do Campo das Agulhas // Caverna do Campo das Agulhas
  • Опасности Поля Шипов // Пещера Поля Шипов
  • Riesgos de Campopunzante // Cueva de Campopunzante