Searing Blaze

Searing Blaze {R}{R}

Instant
Searing Blaze deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and 1 damage to target creature that player or that planeswalker's controller controls.
Landfall — If you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn, Searing Blaze deals 3 damage to that player or planeswalker and 3 damage to that creature instead.
Details
  • Artist: James Paick
  • Rarity: common
  • Collector Number: 90
  • Released: 2010-02-05
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2010-03-01 Whether you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn is checked as this spell resolves, not as you cast it.
  • 2010-03-01 Having more than one land enter the battlefield under your control this turn provides no additional benefit.
  • 2010-03-01 The landfall ability checks for an action that has happened in the past. It doesn't matter if a land that entered the battlefield under your control previously in the turn is still on the battlefield, is still under your control, or is still a land.
  • 2010-03-01 Once the spell resolves, having a land enter the battlefield under your control provides no further benefit.
  • 2010-03-01 The effect of this spell's landfall ability replaces its normal effect. If you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn, only the landfall-based effect happens.
  • 2010-03-01 You must choose two targets as you cast Searing Blaze: a player and a creature that player controls. If you can't (because there are no creatures on the battlefield, perhaps), then you can't cast the spell.
  • 2010-03-01 If either target is illegal by the time Searing Blaze resolves, it still deals damage to the other target.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 炙热火光
  • Sengende Strahlen
  • Brasier calcinant
  • Fiamma Ustionante
  • 焼尽の猛火
  • Labareda Cauterizante
  • Жаркое Пламя
  • Llamarada abrasadora