Gideon, the Oathsworn

Gideon, the Oathsworn {4}{W}{W}

Legendary Planeswalker - Gideon
Whenever you attack with two or more non-Gideon creatures, put a +1/+1 counter on each of those creatures.
[+2]: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.
[–9]: Exile Gideon, the Oathsworn and each creature your opponents control.
Loyalty:
4
Related card: Gideon's Battle Cry
Details
  • Artist: Kieran Yanner
  • Rarity: mythic
  • Collector Number: 265
  • Released: 2019-05-03
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2019-05-03 A non-Gideon creature is a creature that isn't also a Gideon planeswalker. For example, Gideon's Company is a non-Gideon creature.
  • 2019-05-03 Any attacking Gideon creatures won't get a +1/+1 counter, but as long as two or more attacking creatures aren't Gideons, those attacking creatures each get a +1/+1 counter.
  • 2019-05-03 Gideon's first loyalty ability doesn't count as a creature entering the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types.
  • 2019-05-03 If Gideon becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can't attack with him or use any of his {T} abilities (if he gains any).
  • 2019-05-03 Gideon's first loyalty ability causes him to become a creature with the creature type Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: planeswalker is only a type (not a creature type), and Soldier is just a creature type (not a planeswalker type).
  • 2019-05-03 If damage that can't be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first loyalty ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). Even though he's also a creature, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard.
  • 2019-05-03 If Gideon has 9 loyalty as you activate his last ability, he'll be put into your graveyard and won't be exiled.
Links
Printings
  • War of the Spark (mythic)

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 守誓卫士基定
  • Gideon der Eidgebundene
  • Gideon, l'assermenté
  • Gideon, Vincolato dal Giuramento
  • 誓いを立てた者、ギデオン
  • 맹세한 자, 기디온
  • Gideon, o Jurado
  • Гидеон, Поклявшийся
  • Gideon, caballero jurado