Ephara, God of the Polis

Ephara, God of the Polis {2}{W}{U}

Legendary Enchantment Creature - God
Indestructible
As long as your devotion to white and blue is less than seven, Ephara isn't a creature.
At the beginning of each upkeep, if you had another creature enter the battlefield under your control last turn, draw a card.
6/5
Details
  • Artist: Jason A. Engle
  • Collector Number: 72
  • Available only as foil
  • Frame Effects: nyxtouched, legendary, showcase, inverted
  • Rarity: mythic
  • Released: 2020-02-14
  • Set: Secret Lair Drop
  • Stamp: oval
  • Subsets: Theros Stargazing, Volume II
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2013-09-15 Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
  • 2013-09-15 If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 2013-09-15 If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.
  • 2013-09-15 If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won't matter because it has indestructible.)
  • 2013-09-15 If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.
  • 2013-09-15 If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it's still on the battlefield at that time.
  • 2013-09-15 Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 2013-09-15 Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 2013-09-15 The abilities of Gods function as long as they're on the battlefield, regardless of whether they're creatures.
  • 2013-09-15 The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It's always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.
  • 2014-02-01 Ephara's last ability checks at the beginning of each upkeep whether another creature entered the battlefield under your control last turn. If one did, it will trigger; otherwise, it won't. The ability will trigger only once no matter how many creatures entered the battlefield under your control that turn, as long as at least one did.
  • 2014-02-01 If a noncreature permanent you control (such as an Aura with bestow) becomes a creature, it will not cause Ephara's last ability to trigger the following turn. This is true even if that noncreature permanent became a creature the same turn it entered the battlefield.
  • 2014-02-01 The last ability will trigger regardless of what has happened to the creature that entered the battlefield on the previous turn. It doesn't matter whether it's still under your control or whether it's still on the battlefield.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 城邦神厄芳拉
  • 城邦神厄芳拉
  • Ephara, Göttin der Polis
  • Éphara, déesse de la Polis
  • Efara, Dea della Polis
  • 都市国家の神、エファラ
  • 폴리스의 신 에파라
  • Efara, Deusa da Pólis
  • Эфара, Богиня Полиса
  • Efara, diosa de la polis