Grab the Reins

Grab the Reins {3}{R}

Instant
Choose one —
• Until end of turn, you gain control of target creature and it gains haste.
• Sacrifice a creature. Grab the Reins deals damage equal to that creature's power to any target.
Entwine {2}{R}
Details
  • Artist: Michael Sutfin
  • Rarity: uncommon
  • Collector Number: 95
  • Released: 2003-10-02
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2004-12-01 If you pay the entwine cost, you can sacrifice the creature you gain control of with Grab the Reins.
  • 2004-12-01 If you choose the "sacrifice a creature" mode, you choose the target of the damage on announcement, but don't choose what to sacrifice until resolution. You must sacrifice a creature when Grab the Reins resolves, even if you don't want to. If you don't control any creatures at that time, Grab the Reins deals no damage.
  • 2004-12-01 If you cast this with Entwine, you don't get priority in the middle of resolution. You can't steal something, do anything (like attack with it), and then sacrifice it.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 勒紧缰绳
  • Zügel ergreifen
  • Saisie des rênes
  • Prendere le Redini
  • 手綱取り
  • Tomar as Rédeas
  • Tomar las riendas