Pithing Needle

Pithing Needle {1}

Artifact
As Pithing Needle enters the battlefield, choose a card name.
Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.
Occasionally a skaab remembers too much of its former life. Luckily, there's an easy cure.
Details
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2005-06-01 If you name a card that has both a mana ability and another activated ability, the mana ability can be activated but the other ability can't be activated.
  • 2005-06-01 Pithing Needle affects cards regardless of what zone they're in. This includes cards in hand, cards in the graveyard, and exiled cards. For example, a player can't cycle Eternal Dragon or return an Eternal Dragon from their graveyard to hand if Pithing Needle naming Eternal Dragon is on the battlefield.
  • 2005-06-01 You can name any card, even if that card doesn't normally have an activated ability. You can't name a token unless that token has the same name as a card.
  • 2009-10-01 Once Pithing Needle has left the battlefield, activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can be activated again.
  • 2012-10-01 Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form "[cost]: [effect]." Triggered abilities and static abilities of the named card work normally.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 穿髓金针
  • 穿髓金針
  • Lähmungsnadel
  • Aiguille à sectionner
  • Ago Spinale
  • 真髄の針
  • 연수에 꽂는 바늘
  • Agulha Medular
  • Смертельная Игла
  • Aguja medular