Soul Reap

Soul Reap {1}{B}

Sorcery
Destroy target nongreen creature. Its controller loses 3 life if you've cast another black spell this turn.
Their thoughtweft carried Darial's last thoughts back to his doun. They sorely wished it had not.
Details
  • Artist: Izzy
  • Rarity: common
  • Collector Number: 44
  • Released: 2008-07-25
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2008-08-01 A hybrid creature that's green and another color is *not* a nongreen creature. Since it's green, it can't be nongreen!
  • 2008-08-01 Soul Reap doesn't check whether you've cast another black spell until Soul Reap resolves. If you cast Soul Reap, then cast a black instant in response, the creature's controller will lose the life when Soul Reap resolves.
  • 2008-08-01 Although Soul Reap says it looks for "another black spell," there's no requirement that Soul Reap actually be cast (or be black) for this part of its ability to work. For example, if a spell such as Commandeer causes you to gain control of Soul Reap, it'll still check whether you cast a black spell this turn, even though you didn't cast Soul Reap itself.
Links
Printings
  • Eventide (common)

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 收割灵魂
  • Seelenraffen
  • Fenaison de l'âme
  • Mietere Anime
  • 魂の刈り取り
  • Colheita de Alma
  • Стяжание Души
  • Cosechar almas