Rivaz of the Claw

Rivaz of the Claw {1}{B}{R}

Legendary Creature - Viashino Warlock
Menace
{T}: Add two mana in any combination of colors. Spend this mana only to cast Dragon creature spells.
Once during each of your turns, you may cast a Dragon creature spell from your graveyard.
Whenever you cast a Dragon creature spell from your graveyard, it gains "When this creature dies, exile it."
3/3
Details
  • Artist: Eugene Frost
  • Collector Number: 355
  • Available only as foil
  • Frame Effects: showcase, legendary, inverted
  • Promo: boosterfun, textured
  • Rarity: rare
  • Released: 2022-09-09
  • Set: Dominaria United
  • Stamp: oval
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2022-09-09 Once you begin casting a spell from your graveyard, it immediately moves to the stack. Players can't take any other actions until you're done casting the spell.
  • 2022-09-09 The ability that the spell gains as Rivaz's last ability resolves continues to apply to the permanent that spell becomes after the spell resolves, even if it stops being a Dragon or stops being a creature.
  • 2022-09-09 The ability that the spell gains only applies to it once it's on the battlefield. If the spell is countered before it resolves, that ability will not exile it.
  • 2022-09-09 The casting permission granted by Rivaz's third ability doesn't change when you may cast the spell from your graveyard.
  • 2022-09-09 The last ability triggers when you cast a Dragon creature spell from your graveyard for any reason. It triggers even if you didn't use mana generated by Rivaz's activated ability to pay its costs.
  • 2022-09-09 You can use mana generated by the activated ability to pay an alternative cost (such as an escape cost) or an additional cost to cast a Dragon spell. It's not limited to paying just that spell's mana cost.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 龙爪利瓦兹
  • Rivaz von der Klaue
  • Rivaz de la Griffe
  • Rivaz dell'Artiglio
  • 爪のライヴァズ
  • Rivaz da Garra
  • Rivaz de la Garra