Whiplash Trap

Whiplash Trap {3}{U}{U}

Instant - Trap
If an opponent had two or more creatures enter the battlefield under their control this turn, you may pay {U} rather than pay this spell's mana cost.
Return two target creatures to their owners' hands.
Details
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2009-10-01 You may ignore a Trap's alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
  • 2009-10-01 Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn't change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 2009-10-01 Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 2009-10-01 You must target two creatures as you cast Whiplash Trap. If you can't (because just one creature is on the battlefield, perhaps), you can't cast the spell.
  • 2009-10-01 You can target any two creatures, not just ones that entered the battlefield this turn.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 鞭击陷阱
  • Peitschenfalle
  • Piège cingleur
  • Trappola Sferzante
  • 鞭打ちの罠
  • Armadilha de Chicotada
  • Хлестающая Западня
  • Trampa de latigazo