Demonspine Whip

Demonspine Whip {B}{R}

Artifact - Equipment
{X}: Equipped creature gets +X/+0 until end of turn.
Equip {1}
Using a spine to break a slave's back appeals to the Grixis sense of irony.
Details
  • Artist: Mark Hyzer
  • Rarity: uncommon
  • Collector Number: 39
  • Released: 2009-04-30
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2009-05-01 When the first ability resolves, the +X/+0 bonus is given to the creature that Demonspine Whip is attached to at that time, regardless of what creature (if any) it was attached to when the ability was activated. If Demonspine Whip is on the battlefield but not attached to a creature at this time, no creature gets the bonus.
  • 2009-05-01 Once Demonspine Whip's ability resolves and gives the +X/+0 bonus to a creature, that bonus stays with that creature for the rest of the turn even if Demonspine Whip moves to another creature or leaves the battlefield.
  • 2009-05-01 If Demonspine Whip is no longer on the battlefield by the time its first ability resolves, the game checks whether it was attached to a creature at the time it left the battlefield. If it was, that creature gets the +X/+0 bonus. If it wasn't, no creature gets the bonus.
Links
Printings
  • Alara Reborn (uncommon)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 魔脊鞭
  • Dämonenwirbel-Peitsche
  • Fouet d'échine de démon
  • Frusta della Spina Demoniaca
  • 悪魔骨の鞭
  • Chicote Espinha-do-Demônio
  • Плеть из Хребта Демона
  • Látigo espina demoníaca