Death's Caress

Death's Caress {3}{B}{B}

Sorcery
Destroy target creature. If that creature was a Human, you gain life equal to its toughness.
The faint smell of cloves, the rustling of the wind, and a paralyzing descent into an airless, fathomless tomb.
Details
  • Artist: James Ryman
  • Rarity: common
  • Collector Number: 59
  • Released: 2012-02-03
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2011-01-22 Check the creature as it last existed on the battlefield to determine if it was a Human. If it was, use its toughness as it last existed on the battlefield to determine how much life is gained.
  • 2011-01-22 If the target creature isn't on the battlefield or is otherwise an illegal target when Death's Caress tries to resolve, Death's Caress doesn't resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won't gain any life.
  • 2013-07-01 If Death's Caress resolves but the target creature isn't destroyed, perhaps because it has indestructible or it regenerated, you still check if it's a Human. If so, you'll gain life equal to its toughness.
Links
Printings
  • Dark Ascension (common)

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 死亡抚触
  • 死亡撫觸
  • Umarmung des Todes
  • Caresse de la mort
  • Carezza della Morte
  • 死の愛撫
  • 죽음의 손길
  • Carícia da Morte
  • Ласка Смерти
  • Caricia de la muerte