Prototype Portal

Prototype Portal {4}

Artifact
Imprint — When Prototype Portal enters the battlefield, you may exile an artifact card from your hand.
{X}, {T}: Create a token that's a copy of the exiled card. X is the converted mana cost of that card.
Details
  • Artist: Drew Baker
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 216
  • Released: 2018-08-10
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2011-01-01 If Prototype Portal has left the battlefield by the time its second ability resolves, you'll still put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of the exiled card. On the other hand, if Prototype Portal is still on the battlefield at this time but there is no exiled card (because, perhaps, Riftsweeper's ability caused the exiled card to be put into its owner's library), no token is created.
  • 2011-01-01 You don't choose the value of {X}. Rather, the value of X is defined by the activated ability.
  • 2011-01-01 If the exiled card has {X} in its mana cost (such as Chalice of the Void), that X is considered to be 0. The {X} in Prototype Portal's activation cost takes this into account, though it may be greater than 0 if the exiled card has other mana symbols in its mana cost (such as Riptide Replicator).
  • 2011-01-01 You may not activate the second ability if no card has been exiled with Prototype Portal. In that case, the value of {X} is undefined and can't be paid.
  • 2011-01-01 Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the exiled card will trigger when the token is put onto the battlefield. Any "as [this permanent] enters the battlefield" or "[this permanent] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the exiled card will also work.
Links
Printings

Card is in preconstructed decks:

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 原型通道
  • 原型通道
  • Prototyp-Portal
  • Portail prototype
  • Portale Prototipo
  • 試作品の扉
  • Portal de Protótipos
  • Портал Прототипов
  • Portal prototipo