1 card found
Chalice of the Void

Chalice of the Void {X}{X}

Artifact
Chalice of the Void enters the battlefield with X charge counters on it.
Whenever a player casts a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void, counter that spell.
Details
  • Artist: Mark Zug
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 150
  • Released: 2003-10-02
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2018-03-16 A mana cost of {X}{X} means that you pay twice X. If you want X to be 3, you pay {6} to cast Chalice of the Void.
  • 2018-03-16 The number of counters on Chalice of the Void matters only at the time the spell is cast. Changing the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void after a spell has been cast won't change whether the ability counters the spell.
  • 2018-03-16 If there are zero charge counters on Chalice of the Void, it counters each spell with a converted mana cost of 0. This includes face-down creature spells cast with morph's alternative cost.
  • 2018-03-16 Chalice of the Void has to be on the battlefield at the end of casting a spell for the ability to trigger. If you sacrifice Chalice of the Void as a cost to cast a spell, its ability can't trigger. However, if it leaves the battlefield once its ability has triggered, that ability will still counter the spell.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 虚空圣杯
  • Kelch der Leere
  • Calice du vide
  • Calice del Nulla
  • 虚空の杯
  • Cálice do Vácuo
  • Cáliz del vacío