Elbrus, the Binding Blade
Withengar Unbound

Elbrus, the Binding Blade {7}

Legendary Artifact - Equipment
Equipped creature gets +1/+0.
When equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, unattach Elbrus, the Binding Blade, then transform it.
Equip {1}
Those who grasp its hilt soon hear the demon's call.
Card has other part: Withengar Unbound
Details
  • Artist: Eric Deschamps
  • Rarity: mythic
  • Collector Number: 8a
  • Released: 2017-11-24
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2011-01-22 The "legend rule" checks only for permanents with exactly the same name. Elbrus, the Binding Blade and Withengar Unbound can be on the battlefield at the same time without either going to its owner's graveyard.
  • 2011-01-22 Elbrus will transform even if you are unable to unattach it (most likely because the equipped creature died).
  • 2011-01-22 Withengar's triggered ability will trigger no matter how a player loses the game: due to a state-based action (as a result of having a life total of 0 or less, trying to draw a card from an empty library, or having ten poison counters), a spell or ability that says that player loses the game, a concession, or a game loss awarded by a judge.
  • 2011-01-22 In a multiplayer game using the limited range of influence option (such as a Grand Melee game), if a spell or ability says that you win the game, it instead causes all of your opponents within your range of influence to lose the game. This is another way by which Withengar's ability can trigger.
  • 2016-07-13 For more information on double-faced cards, see the Shadows over Innistrad mechanics article (http://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/feature/shadows-over-innistrad-mechanics).
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 镇魔刃埃布斯
  • 鎮魔刃埃布斯
  • Elbrus, die bindende Klinge
  • Elbrus, la Lame d'emprisonnement
  • Elbrus, la Lama Vincolante
  • 束縛の刃、エルブラス
  • 구속의 검 엘브러스
  • Elbrus, a Lâmina da União
  • Элбрус, Связующий Клинок
  • Elbrus, la espada vinculante