Mental Misstep

Mental Misstep {U/P}

Instant
Counter target spell with converted mana cost 1.
"Your first mistake was thinking I would let you live long enough to make a second."
—Sarnvax, Gitaxian sective
Details
  • Artist: Erica Yang
  • Watermark: Phyrexian
  • Rarity: uncommon
  • Collector Number: 38
  • Released: 2011-05-13
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2011-06-01 A card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its mana cost is each color that appears in that mana cost, regardless of how that cost may have been paid.
  • 2011-06-01 To calculate the converted mana cost of a card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, count each Phyrexian mana symbol as 1.
  • 2011-06-01 As you cast a spell or activate an activated ability with one or more Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, you choose how to pay for each Phyrexian mana symbol at the same time you would choose modes or choose a value for X.
  • 2011-06-01 If you're at 1 life or less, you can't pay 2 life.
  • 2011-06-01 Phyrexian mana is not a new color. Players can't add Phyrexian mana to their mana pools.
  • 2011-06-01 If a spell has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be the value chosen for it while that spell is on the stack.
  • 2011-06-01 Each Phyrexian mana symbol in a spell's mana cost contributes 1 to that spell's converted mana cost. For example, Mental Misstep's converted mana cost is 1, regardless of how its cost was paid.
Links
Printings
  • New Phyrexia (uncommon)
Foreign names
  • 心灵失足
  • 心靈失足
  • Mentaler Fehltritt
  • Faux-pas mental
  • Passo Falso Mentale
  • 精神的つまづき
  • Lapso Mental
  • Неверный Ход Мысли
  • Tropiezo mental