Panoptic Mirror

Panoptic Mirror {5}

Artifact
Imprint{X}, {T}: You may exile an instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost X from your hand.
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may copy a card exiled with Panoptic Mirror. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.
Details
  • Artist: Glen Angus
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 136
  • Released: 2004-02-06
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2004-12-01 As Panoptic Mirror's triggered ability resolves, it allows you to create a copy of one of the instant or sorcery cards imprinted on Panoptic Mirror in the Exile zone (that's where the imprinted card is) and then cast it without paying its mana cost.
  • 2004-12-01 You don't pay the spell's mana cost. If the spell has X in its mana cost, X is 0. You do pay any additional costs for that spell. You can't use any alternative costs.
  • 2004-12-01 The triggered ability triggers only once each upkeep, not once per imprinted card. If no cards are imprinted on Panoptic Mirror when the triggered ability resolves, it does nothing.
  • 2004-12-01 You may imprint a card on Panoptic Mirror in response to the upkeep-triggered ability. If you do, that card is available to copy when the triggered ability resolves.
  • 2004-12-01 Exiling a card when the activated ability resolves is optional. If you choose to exile a card, you can exile only a card with converted mana cost equal to X.
  • 2005-03-01 The creation of the copy and then the casting of the copy are both optional.
  • 2017-04-18 To imprint a split card, you pay X equal to card's converted mana cost, determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves. If the copied card is a split card, you choose which one side of it to cast, but you can't cast both sides.
Links
Printings
  • Darksteel (rare)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 万象镜
  • Panoptischer Spiegel
  • Miroir panoptique
  • Specchio di Panoptic
  • 一望の鏡
  • Espelho Panóptico
  • Espejo panóptico