Loyal Cathar
Unhallowed Cathar

Loyal Cathar {W}{W}

Creature - Human Soldier
Vigilance
When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step.
"I trust myself to do my duty, even unto death. It's what comes after that I'm afraid of."
—Constable Visil, to Thalia
2/2
Card has other part: Unhallowed Cathar
Details
  • Artist: Ryan Pancoast
  • Rarity: common
  • Collector Number: 13a
  • Released: 2012-02-03
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2011-01-22 When Loyal Cathar dies, it will return to the battlefield with its back face (Unhallowed Cathar) up. It doesn't return to the battlefield and then transform.
  • 2011-01-22 Another double-faced card that becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar and then dies will return to the battlefield with its back face up.
  • 2011-01-22 If you gain control of a Loyal Cathar owned by another player and it dies, it will be put into to its owner's graveyard and then return to the battlefield under your control.
  • 2016-04-08 If a card that isn't a double-faced card becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar (due to Cytoshape, for example) and then dies, that card won't return to the battlefield. It will remain in its owner's graveyard.
  • 2016-07-13 For more information on double-faced cards, see the Shadows over Innistrad mechanics article (http://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/feature/shadows-over-innistrad-mechanics).
Links
Printings
  • Dark Ascension (common)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 忠诚护教军
  • 忠誠護教軍
  • Treuer Katharer
  • Cathare loyal
  • Cataro Leale
  • 忠実な聖戦士
  • 충직한 카타르
  • Cátaro Leal
  • Верный Катар
  • Cátaro leal